Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, City Flag

Dec 11th, 2017


Harrisburg is the capital of Pennsylvania and the seat of Dauphin County. The city is located on the south-central border of Pennsylvania on the east bank of the Susquehanna River. The town was laid out by John Harris Jr in 1719 and named for his father, John Harris Senior. Harrisburg was incorporated in 1791 and chartered in 1860.


The city of Harrisburg adopted an official flag in 1907. The design was chosen by the common council and agreed to by the select council. The designer of the flag is unknown.


The meanings assigned to the flag design are as follows:


*     Crescents: Taken from John Harris’ coat of arms

*     Disks (roundels): Taken from William Penn’s coat of arms. Pennsylvania was named for him.

*     Dome: Recognizes Harrisburg as the capital of Pennsylvania

*     Fleur de Lis: Dauphin County and the fact that Harrisburg is its seat

*     Keystone: References Pennsylvania’s nickname, “The Keystone State”


In 2004, the North American Vexillological Association, NAVA, conducted The American City Flag Survey. Harrisburg’s flag ranked 74th out of 150 flags. The flag does not follow the rules of simple flag design.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus